Find us on Facebook Subscribe to our newsletter
Creating a better future for communities through research

Helmut Braun Memorial Award

"Helping to make post-secondary school accessible"­

The Centre for Community Based Research established the Helmut Braun Memorial Award in 2001, in memory of Helmut Braun, a local social activist, a CCBR community researcher and an advocate for the rights of people with mental health and other life struggles. The fund contributes to the cost of post-secondary education for a student pursuing social studies in a variety of disciplines. Over the last 15 years, 20 students have received the Helmut Braun Memorial Award. 

The Helmut Braun Memorial Award was initially funded by donations and later matched by the Kitchener-Waterloo Community Foundation. Since 2015, the Helmut Braun Award been largely funded by the Laurier Students' Public Interest Research Group (LSPIRG). The fund continues to be administered by the Centre for Community Based Research.

Caption Content

Helmut Braun (1958-2001)

In September 2016, Awards will be given to three students in need of financial assistance. Each award will be for $1000.

Application Process¬≠ 

All students interested in applying for the award should write a two to three page letter expressing their desire for the award and rationalizing their fit with the following criteria.

  1. Acceptance into a post-secondary program in any of the following areas:

    • Social justice, peace and conflict resolution

    • Community development

    • Cross-cultural issues

    • Community research and social change

      Please include name of university and program.

  2. Primary residence of applicant is in Waterloo Region

  3. Need for financial assistance

  4. Vision for how their education will promote the wellness of communities, and better integrate people who do not have equal access to power and opportunity

Application letters are accepted beginning June 1, 2016. Applications should be received (mail or e-mail) by the selection committee no later than Friday August 5, 2016. Include the award name in the subject line as well as your street address, phone numbers and email address.  The award result(s) will be announced in late August. 

A community ceremony to celebrate the Award recipients will be held in September. Images from last year's ceremony are on the right. More details about this year's ceremony will be released soon!  

Download current application details here.

Send your application to:

Helmut Braun Memorial Award Selection Committee
The Centre for Community Based Research
190 Westmount Road North, Waterloo ON, N2L 3G5 
Telephone: (519) 885-1460 ext. 25296


Click here to learn more about our other scholarship, called the Chinese Post-Secondary Education Scholarship.  

Thank you to the Laurier Students' Public Interest Research Group (LSPIRG) for funding for the 2016 Helmut Braun Scholarship Award.  LSPIRG's mission is to "empower its members to foster social justice by providing learning opportunities, access to resources, and avenues for action".

Caption Content


2015 Helmut Braun Memorial Award Recipients

Caption Content

Maheen Ahmedi Farooqi

Caption Content

Wube Anarge Yitayew 

Marie-Louise Lariviere was the third recipient of the 2015 Helmut Braun Memorial Award but was unable to attend the awards ceremony.

2015 Keynote Speaker 

Our keynote speaker in 2015 was Denise Kamo, a newly retired school teacher from the Waterloo Region District School Board who worked for 36 years with special needs children and teenagers with autism spectrum disorder.

Caption Content

Denise Kamo, Retired school teacher (WRDSB)